Summary: Information on the penalties and defenses for the most common vehicle code violations and traffic offenses in Michigan.
What Are the Penalties for Driving on a Suspended Drivers License in Michigan?
In Michigan, Driving on a Suspended Drivers License is a misdemeanor crime, not just a moving violation like speeding. Technically, it is a violation of Vehicle Code sec 257.904 and carries a maximum penalty of 93 days in jail, impound of the vehicle you were driving and a fine of approximately $1500 plus court costs.
Most commonly, a person arrested for driving on a suspended license will be taken to jail for a short time, and then will have to appear in court later to deal with the misdemeanor charges. For most first offenders, probation is available, but not guaranteed.
Common defenses to driving on a suspended drivers license include: 1) a lack of actual knowledge of the suspension; 2) illegal stop of the vehicle by police; 3) problem corrected (not really a defense but can help in most courts)
Note: a violation of Vehicle Code sec 257.904 puts 2 points on your driving record, and these new points (added to prior points) can cause a new suspension on its own. For detailed and free legal self help to get your drivers license back after a suspension, see Drivers License Appeals Practice Manual on line